letting go: a creative experiment

I’m still sort of in the process of getting over my creative roadblocks. Honestly, it isn’t really a lack of ideas so much as terrible organizational skills on my part; it’s been a challenge lately to keep the various parts of my life in proportion to each other– for the past few weeks it’s felt like all work and no play. I want to end that.

One of the things that’s so important to me is keeping everything in my life balanced; my creative side and my crafting usually keeps me centered all by itself, but lately I’ve been off-kilter.

I started a new *SMASH journal last night– I didn’t spend any time planning things, I started with an idea and decided to let it take me where it may– and it ended up being something fantastic. That’s the biggest problem: sometimes when I’m trying to be creative I over-think and pick apart my projects, trying to create that “perfect” vision that’s in my head– and it doesn’t always work that way! This time I decided to let go, remove my expectations of what I wanted these pages to be, and just let them build themselves– and what do you know, in the end I completely loved them.

Thoughts & Comments